Embassy of the Free Mind: Virtual Library |||

Anonymous of 379 (5th century BCE)

Anonymous of 379 was an anonymous astrologer who lived in the 5th century BCE. He is believed to have been a student of the Pythagoreans and is known for creating the first set of astrological symbols used to represent the planets. He is credited with assigning the symbols to the seven planets known at the time—the Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, and Saturn. He is also credited with introducing the concept of the zodiac, a circle of twelve 30-degree sectors, each of which was associated with a constellation. He is also thought to be the first to compile a set of astrological tables, which were used to predict the movements of the planets, their effects on earthly events, and their influence on human behavior.

Digitized editions:

Catalogus Codicum Astrologorum Graecorum (CCAG),vol. 5, part 1, Codicum Romanorum, ed. F. Boll and F. Cumont, Lamertin, Brussels, 1904, pp. 194-212 >>

Digitalized translations:

Anonymous of 379, The Treatise on the Bright Fixed Stars, trans. Robert Schmidt, ed. Robert Hand, The Golden Hind Press, Berkeley Springs, WV, 1993 >>


Bagnall, Roger S., et al, Consuls of the later Roman Empire, American Philological Association, Atlanta, GA, 1987 >>

Neugebauer, Otto, A History of Ancient Mathematical Astronomy, 3 vols., Springer,Berlin, 1975 >>

Paul of Alexandria, Introduction, edited in Pauli Alexandrini Elementa Apotelesmatica, ed. Emilie Boer, Teubner, Leipzig, 1958 >>

Pingree, David, The Yavanajataka of Sphujidhvaja, vol. 2, Harvard University Press, Cambridge, MA. >>

Ptolemy, Claudius, Tetrabiblos, ed. Wolfgang Hübner, Claudius Ptolemaeus, Opera quae exstant omnia, vol 3, 1: ΑΠΟΤΕΛΕΣΜΑΤΙΚΑ, Teubner, Stuttgart & Leipzig, 1998 >>

Up next Johannes de Sacro Bosco (ca 1195-ca 1256) Giovanni Abioso (ca 1553-ca 1523)
Latest posts Berossus (3rd century BCE) Johann Valentin Andreae (1586-1654) Demetrios Chalkokondyles (1423-1511) Henricus Cornelius Agrippa von Nettesheim (1486–1535) Porphyry of Tyre (c. 234–305 CE) Paulus Alexandrinus (4th century) Johannes Trithemius (1462–1516) Girolamo Cardano (1501-1576) Giambattista della Porta (1535-1615) Paulus Ricius (-1541) Matteo Bosso (1427-1502) Nechepso and Petosiris (c. 1st century BCE - 1st century BC) Thrasyllus (fl. 1st century BC) Firmicus Maternus (4th century CE) Marcus Manilius (1st century CE) Claudius Ptolemy (c. 90–168 AD) Dorotheus of Sidon (1st century CE) Giovanni Abioso (ca 1553-ca 1523) Anonymous of 379 (5th century BCE) Johannes de Sacro Bosco (ca 1195-ca 1256) Gemma Frisius (1508-1555) Hephaistos of Thebes (5th century BCE) Rhetorius of Egypt (7th century CE) Vettius Valens (c. 140 — c. 175) Alchabitius (829-861) Ramon Llull (ca 1232-1315/16) Hendrik Herp (ca 1400-1477) Jamblichus (c. 245–c. 325 CE) Giovanni Pico della Mirandola (1463-1494) George Starkey (1628-1665) Albertus Magnus (c. 1200 — November 15, 1280)