Embassy of the Free Mind: Virtual Library |||

Dorotheus of Sidon (1st century CE)

Dorotheus of Sidon was an ancient Greek astrologer who lived in the first century CE. He is best known for his work on astrology, which is preserved in the form of a poem called The Pentateuch of Astrology”. This work is one of the most comprehensive and influential texts on astrology ever written, and it has been used by astrologers for centuries. In it, Dorotheus lays out the principles of astrology and explains how it can be used to interpret the movements of the stars and planets. He also includes practical advice on how to interpret different types of horoscopes. Dorotheus’ work is still studied and used by modern astrologers today.

Critical Edition and Translations:

Dorothei Sidonii Carmen Astrologicum, ed. David Pingree, Teubner, Leipzig, 1976 >>

Dorotheus of Sidon, Carmen Astrologicum, trans. David Pingree, Ascella Publications, London, 1993 (with a brief introduction by Nicolas Campion) >>

Book 1 of the Ascella edition of Dorotheus >>

Book 2 of the Ascella edition of Dorotheus >>

Digitalized translations:

Anonymous of 379, The Treatise on the Bright Fixed Stars, trans. Robert Schmidt, ed. Robert Hand, The Golden Hind Press, Berkeley Springs, WV, 1993 >>


Bagnall, Roger S., et al, Consuls of the later Roman Empire, American Philological Association, Atlanta, GA, 1987 >>

Neugebauer, Otto, A History of Ancient Mathematical Astronomy, 3 vols., Springer,Berlin, 1975 >>

Paul of Alexandria, Introduction, edited in Pauli Alexandrini Elementa Apotelesmatica, ed. Emilie Boer, Teubner, Leipzig, 1958 >>

Pingree, David, The Yavanajataka of Sphujidhvaja, vol. 2, Harvard University Press, Cambridge, MA. >>

Ptolemy, Claudius, Tetrabiblos, ed. Wolfgang Hübner, Claudius Ptolemaeus, Opera quae exstant omnia, vol 3, 1: ΑΠΟΤΕΛΕΣΜΑΤΙΚΑ, Teubner, Stuttgart & Leipzig, 1998 >>

Book 415 Hephaistios of Thebes Apotelesmatics Book I >>

Hephaistion of Thebes, Apotelesmatics: Book III: On Inceptions, trans. Eduardo J. Gramaglia, ed. Benjamin N. Dykes, Cazimi Press, Minneapolis, MN, 2013 >>

Dorotheus, Orpheus, Anubio, and Pseudo-Valens, Teachings on Transits, trans. Robert Schmidt, ed. Robert Hand, The Golden Hind Press, Berkeley Springs, WV, 1995, pp. 1-6 >>


Alcinous, The Handbook of Platonism, trans. John Dillon, Clarendon Press, Oxford, 1993 >>

Brennan, Chris, The Katarche of Horary,” in the National Council for Geocosmic Research Journal, Summer 2007, pp. 23-33, >>

Catalogus Codicum Astrologorum Graecorum (CCAG),vol. 1, Codices Florentinos, ed. F. Boll, F. Cumont, W. Kroll, A. Olivieri, Lamertin, Brussels, 1898 >>

Catalogus Codicum Astrologorum Graecorum (CCAG),vol. 2, Codices Venetos, ed. F. Boll, F. Cumont, W. Kroll, A. Olivieri, Lamertin, Brussels, 1900 >>

Dodge, Bayard, trans., The Fihrist of al-Nadim, A Tenth Century Survey of Muslim Culture, 2 vols., Columbia University Press, New York , 1970 >>

Holden, James H., A History of Horoscopic Astrology, American Federation of Astrologers, Tempe, AZ, 1996 >>

Pingree, David, From Astral Omens to Astrology: From Babylon to Binaker, Istituto Italiano per L’Africa e L’Oriente, Rome, 1997 >>

Up next Giovanni Abioso (ca 1553-ca 1523) Claudius Ptolemy (c. 90–168 AD)
Latest posts Berossus (3rd century BCE) Johann Valentin Andreae (1586-1654) Demetrios Chalkokondyles (1423-1511) Henricus Cornelius Agrippa von Nettesheim (1486–1535) Porphyry of Tyre (c. 234–305 CE) Paulus Alexandrinus (4th century) Johannes Trithemius (1462–1516) Girolamo Cardano (1501-1576) Giambattista della Porta (1535-1615) Paulus Ricius (-1541) Matteo Bosso (1427-1502) Nechepso and Petosiris (c. 1st century BCE - 1st century BC) Thrasyllus (fl. 1st century BC) Firmicus Maternus (4th century CE) Marcus Manilius (1st century CE) Claudius Ptolemy (c. 90–168 AD) Dorotheus of Sidon (1st century CE) Giovanni Abioso (ca 1553-ca 1523) Anonymous of 379 (5th century BCE) Johannes de Sacro Bosco (ca 1195-ca 1256) Gemma Frisius (1508-1555) Hephaistos of Thebes (5th century BCE) Rhetorius of Egypt (7th century CE) Vettius Valens (c. 140 — c. 175) Alchabitius (829-861) Ramon Llull (ca 1232-1315/16) Hendrik Herp (ca 1400-1477) Jamblichus (c. 245–c. 325 CE) Giovanni Pico della Mirandola (1463-1494) George Starkey (1628-1665) Albertus Magnus (c. 1200 — November 15, 1280)